City Tour in Luxembourg

City tour with our English-speaking driver-guides that are at your service to enable an exceptional Luxembourg sightseeing tour experience.

Discover the City of Luxembourg​​

Take advantage of a day or a weekend to discover the City of Luxembourg, the multicultural capital of the Grand Duchy, located in the heart of Europe. Discover Luxembourgish culture and explore the various picturesque sites and artistic treasures of the historical heritage in a modern city with various guided tours, circuits or excursions.​


TLS DA COSTA Limousine Service has captured the spirit of the city and offers a visit that favors the must-see monuments, this  private  tour is ideal for discovering the city in a short time but stopping where you want. Your Private driver will adapt his route to your expectations in order to spend more or less time in the district of your choice. You will visit the main sites and monuments. You will define the desired circuit according to your choice.​

Place d'Armes

The Place d'Armes, which is part of the pedestrian zone and which is lined with cafes and restaurants, is the favorite meeting place for young and old, locals and visitors. The layout of the current Place d'Armes, known in popular parlance as the “town hall”, was started by Sébastien van Noyen d'Utrecht and completed in 1671 under Governor Jean Charles de Landas. French troops of Louis XIV planted lime trees, had the square paved and used it as a place of arms. Today, thanks to the kiosk, she lends her frame for public concerts and the Christmas Market. The Cercle Municipal, now known as Cercle Cité, is also located at Place d'Armes. In 2006, renovations, restoration and technical improvements were started at the Cercle to transform it into a Convention and Exhibition Center. The works were completed in 2011.

Constitution Square

The Place de la Constitution was built on the old bastion Beck (1644-1685). This square also houses the memorial "Gëlle Fra" which was erected in 1923 in memory of the Luxembourg soldiers who died during the First World War, today it is a symbol of the freedom and resistance of the Luxembourg people. From here we have a magnificent view over the Pétrusse valley and the Adolphe bridge.

Adolphe Bridge

The Adolphe Bridge, also called Pont Neuf, was built in the years 1900 to 1903, during the reign of Grand Duke Adolphe. Since it was the largest stone arch bridge ever built, there was great interest even in its construction. The large double arch, whose span measures 85 m, overlooks the Pétrusse valley at a height of 42 m. The total length of the bridge is 153 m.

Cathedral Notre-Dame

The Luxembourg Cathedral "Notre-Dame" was built between 1613 and 1621 by the Jesuits to serve as a college church. The northern portal is characteristic for the half-Renaissance, half-Baroque style of the time. Since 1794, it has housed the statue of the Comforter of the Afflicted. Cathedral church in 1870, it was enlarged from 1935 to 1938. Richly carved alabaster tribune, columns with arabesque decorations, stained glass windows from the 19th and 20th centuries, neo-Gothic confessionals, modern bas-relief sculptures, bronze portals by Auguste Trémont , are largely worthy of this sanctuary. The crypt serves as a resting place for Jean l'Aveugle, Roi de Bohême and Comte de Luxembourg, as well as for deceased members of the Grand-Ducal family. The two lions flanking the entrance to the cellar are also the work of Auguste Trémont.

Grand Ducal Palace

The Grand Ducal Palace, the town residence of the Grand Ducal family, is located in the center of the old town. Formerly, the site of the current palace hosted the first city hall of the capital. After being wiped out by a powder explosion in 1554, the town hall was rebuilt twenty years later. In the middle of the 18th century, the building was greatly enlarged by the old “Balance”; in 1890 the construction of the Chamber of Deputies took place. Since 1890, the main building has served as the Grand Ducal Palace. From 1992 to 1995, the Palace was the subject of major restoration works. During the summer months, visitors can discover the back of the decor at the Grand Ducal Palace.

Bock Casemates

The Bock Casemates on Montée de Clausen with the ramparts of the old town. Belonging to Luxembourg Heritage, the first casemates were built in 1644, under the domination of the Spanish. The 23 km long underground galleries were enlarged 40 years later, under the direction of the military engineer and builder of the Vauban fortifications, then in the 18th century under that of the Austrians. The defense system spanned several floors and included galleries dug up to 40 m deep. Because of these impressive bastions, the city of Luxembourg was rightly named “ Gibraltar of the North ”. After the dismantling in 1867, the casemates were reduced to 17 km. Since 1933, the Bock and Pétrusse casemates have been open to the public. The bastions as well as the old town, which is no less of historical interest, enjoy world renown. In 1994, UNESCO registered them on the World Heritage list.

The fortifications of Luxembourg City

The fortifications of Luxembourg City a preserved and valued heritage. Forts, bastions, casemates, go inside the fortress. From the 16th to the 19th century, the fortifications of the city of Luxembourg spanned almost 180 hectares. If only 10% are still visible today, this jewel of military architecture is now preserved and valued. It is one of the most important fortified sites in Europe, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. These military buildings are erected in the green setting of downtown Luxembourg. The casemates and the path of the ramparts offer lovely walks. History buffs will prefer to discover the fortress as part of a specific guided tour dedicated to the Vauban circuit, named after the illustrious commissioner of fortifications under Louis XIV.

Old quarters and fortifications

The old districts of the old town are: Clausen, Pfaffenthal and the Grund which is the oldest of the districts. Immerse yourself in the fascinating history of the old city of Luxembourg, which has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site for exactly 25 years. The city of Luxembourg is very much alive. With its international flair and the many languages that resonate in its streets, it is a modern and dynamic city. And yet Luxembourg is also a place where history remains fully perceptible. Indeed, the traces of the old fortress, the "Gibraltar of the North" which once defended the city and the country, are visible everywhere. A walk along the Alzette, in front of the old Neumünster Abbey, in the Grund district, offers a particularly picturesque view of the imposing walls. From here you can admire the impressive Bock rock and the famous Casemates, one of the most important UNESCO sites. The underground walkways, punctuated by openings in the rock, are the longest in the world.

The remains of the old fortifications blend harmoniously into today's urban landscape. Some have changed, however. So you have to take a closer look and go inside, to discover the walls of the fortress under the Villa Vauban of classic style, built in 1873. Today it is a museum of ancient art, surrounded by a beautiful, carefully landscaped park that invites you to stroll and breathe deeply. To travel both through the past and the present, just visit the Dräi Eechelen Museum, close to the Museum of Modern Art, Mudam. In the latter, the symbiosis of the past and the present is impressive. Surrounded by fortress walls, the museum itself is a modernist building by star architect Pei, in which contemporary art is bathed in light. Obviously, in Luxembourg, the traces of UNESCO's world heritage are not purely museum, but they blend with modernity. And this, in a city that is characterized by its cultural openness, Europe, naturally, "naturally Europe". Nestled in the fortified lower city of Luxembourg, a stone's throw from the center, the Grund district is known for its cultural and architectural heritage. The Grund has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1994. Quiet and central, this district is, along with the Clausen district and the Pfaffenthal, one of the most authentic and charming in the city of Luxembourg. It follows the meanders of the Pétrusse river, which flows into this place in the Alzette (Uelzecht). Lively in the evening, it offers the opportunity for lovely romantic outings. With its calm and relaxing atmosphere, the Grund district is a great place to stroll. Located in a bowl, you will have to take the elevator of the Holy Spirit or go down the small winding cobbled streets and follow the water points to walk in the Grund. But it's worth it ! Walking there allows you to savor the peace and quiet of this neighborhood. Summer and winter, enjoy the magnificent landscapes surrounded by trees, stone buildings and ancient bridges. Just raise your head to enjoy a sumptuous view of the green heights of the Upper Town or discover a detail of the historic buildings. In the Grund you will also find the Mosconi restaurant which overlooks the Alzette river. Led by chef Illario Mosconi, one of a series of Relais & Châteaux hotels and gourmet restaurants from around the world. The menu is an eight-course menu consisting of pasta dishes prepared with most ingredients imported from Italy. Mosconi has become the first Italian restaurant to receive a Michelin star in the Benelux. For a time, it had two Michelin stars but returned to only one in the guide for 2014.

Grand Duchess Charlotte Bridge

The Grande-Duchesse Charlotte Bridge, commonly known as the Red Bridge, connects the city center to the European center on the Kirchberg Plateau. The 74m high bridge spans the Alzette valley and the Pfaffenthal district. Its length is 355 m, for a wide support of 234 M, the width of the bridge measures 25 m and its total weight exceeds 4900 tonnes.

Philharmonie Luxembourg

Designed by the architect Christian de Portzamparc, the Philharmonie (Grande-Duchesse Joséphine-Charlotte Concert Hall) draws its elegant silhouette in the heart of the Place de l'Europe. The colonnade which surrounds it houses three rooms which can, depending on their size, accommodate between 120 and 1500 listeners. The artistic programming of the Philharmonie covers a wide range with both classical and contemporary music, but also jazz, world music and concerts for children. In addition, this cultural institution is the residence of the Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mudam-Museum of Modern Art Grand Duke Jean

The famous architect I.M. Pei chose the historic site of Fort Thüngen for the construction of the Museum of Modern Art Grand Duke Jean (Mudam) in Luxembourg. Located on the Kirchberg plateau, between Place de l'Europe and the Old Town of Luxembourg, the Mudam museum, opened in 2006, invites you to explore contemporary art. The public and exhibition space is arranged on three levels and spans over 6,000 m2. The Mudam museum offers carte blanche to artists and designers to take charge and interpret all of the museum's spaces: in traditional exhibition spaces, but also in intermediate areas (reception, café, shop, auditorium, etc.) .) by offering original creations. The collection includes more than 200 works by more than 100 artists. Mudam offers temporary exhibitions, the presentation of works from the collection, guided tours, meetings, workshops, etc. in Luxembourg.

National Museum of History and Art

After an extension that doubles the exhibition area and a considerable restructuring, the National Museum of History and Art includes a set of three underground levels of approximately 700 m2, contained in a glass shell covered by the forecourt of access. The new rooms, whose glass periphery reveals the rocky enclosure which surrounds them, are devoted to the prehistory, protohistory and Gallo-Roman sections. The old and restructured part of the Museum houses the medieval, numismatic, arms and fortress and fine arts sections. In the new building opposite the forecourt are the reception area, a cafeteria, an auditorium, a projection room and a room for temporary exhibitions. The decorative arts / popular arts and traditions collections continue to be exhibited in the beautiful 17th and 18th century patrician houses on rue Witheim.

Kirchberg Plateau

On the plateau is architecture and contemporary art. It is the district of the European Union and banking institutions. Crossing the Grand Duchess Charlotte Bridge commonly called " Red Bridge " to reach the new Kirchberg district in Luxembourg city. The district is also one of the three seats of the institutions of the European Union. In the 1960s, the Kirchberg plateau first hosted the buildings of the European institutions located in Luxembourg: Court of Justice of the European Union, European Court of Auditors, Secretariat of the European Parliament, European Investment Bank (EIB) , European School, Eurostat, etc ... Since the late 1980s, under the leadership of the Kirchberg Plateau Urbanization and Development Fund and supported by a dynamic banking sector, the district has experienced new growth and has opened up to new activities. Today it has become a residential area, but also and above all an institutional and business one. The Kirchberg is also a leisure district. Multisport halls and an Olympic swimming pool (all grouped under the name of La Coque) make this sports complex the largest and most important in the country. Utopolis is a multiplex composed of 10 rooms and was the first multiplex in Europe to have equipped all of its screens with the standards of digital projection. An Auchan group shopping center, located in the heart of the district.

Luxembourg-Hamm American Military Cemetery

American Cemetery where General Joseph Patton and his thousand soldiers are buried. American military cemetery, resting field of 5,076 American soldiers who fell during the Second World War. In the American military cemetery, located in Hamm, rest the American soldiers who died during the Ardennes offensive (winter 1944/45) against the German army. There is also the grave of General George S. Patton. The commander of the 3rd US division had expressly expressed the wish to be buried there. The 5,076 white crosses are grouped in a semicircle around a commemorative chapel. Luxembourg was invaded by the German army on 10th May 1940. Despite its official neutral status, the country was incorporated into the Reich. Luxembourg City lost its status as a capital of an independent country. The Grand Duke's palace became a tavern. The Casino, which is currently a contemporary art forum, became the “Haus Moselland”, a centre for Nazi art. Major reconstruction projects were planned for the City with a view to creating a cultural stronghold for the western Reich, with designs by the Berlin-based architect Hubert Ritter. A painful period of occupation started, ending only with the liberation of the capital on 10th September 1944.

The Pescatore building

Welcome to the Pescatore Foundation. The Foundation has been a nursing home since 1892 in Luxembourg. Where General Georges S. Patton famously prayed for fair weather before the Battle of the Bulge. The Foundation was used as the headquarters for General Patton's 3rd army.

The building of the Spuerkess, state bank

The Luxembourg Stock Exchange was created on April 5, 1928 and Caisse d'Épargne became a founding member and main shareholder. Even today, the State Bank and Savings Bank Luxembourg remains the largest shareholder of the Luxembourg Stock Exchange, 1856 Creation of the Savings Bank. On February 21, 1856, the Chamber of Deputies passed a framework law establishing a Savings Fund. Thus was created the first and only Caisse d'Epargne in the country, which today is the oldest financial institution in the market. 1856 was a landmark year for the country's economic start with the creation of the railways and the development of the steel industry.

Petrusse Park

Arranged in a more romantic spirit, the Petrusse park combine steep topography, bizarre rock formations, ruins of fortifications and bastions in a harmonious whole. The total length of the Petrusse is 10.5 km, and its elevation is 80 meters. Nestled in the Petrusse Valley, behind leafy trees and in the shadow of the Viaduct lies the Chapelle Saint-Quirin, a small chapel carved into the rocky valley wall. The Saint-Quirin chapel is a Catholic religious building located in Luxembourg, in the Petrusse valley. It is dedicated to Quirin de Neuss. The Gothic facade is dated 1355. The roof and the bell tower were added in the 19th century. The spring water located near the chapel is said to have healing properties. There are no signs, no brochures and no plaques on site to hint at the name or history of the chapel. But, the layers of dust and cobwebs covering pews and statues locked inside the barred door and windows let passersby know that it probably hasn’t been used for a while.

Parks around the City

Our wonderful parks around the City which can be explored on foot or by bicycle. The Luxembourg municipal park, or city park, is a public garden located in the Ville-Haute district of the city of Luxembourg in Luxembourg. The Villa Vauban which hosts the art museum of the City of Luxembourg, is located in this park.